Home > General > Attention, Oldest Daughters!

Attention, Oldest Daughters!

Welcome to the launch of the oldestdaughtersforum.

“Summer at the Pond,” bronze by Robin Richerson, Overland Park, KS Arboretum

Each week you’ll find new posts here about a topic that affects or reflects the experiences of first-born females and those who share our lives, including our siblings and spouses.

Some weeks you’ll learn what a newsmaker, who also happens to be an oldest daughter, has done that has made headlines.  Other times, there may be information about a career opportunity that could be especially suitable but has gone largely unrecognized.    And very often, I’ll talk about something I’ve heard or seen during the past week that triggered my own oldest-daughter consciousness.

Like the scene on the right,  it’s only possible to see part of what lies ahead at a launch. Because this is not just “my blog,” but is intentionally a forum for and about oldest daughters, I invite you to weigh in on each week’s topic.

  1. Kelly Miller
    November 9, 2012 at 6:21 am

    Hi, I am th oldest daughter in my family and my mom is a first in her family as well. I do find that growing up I had alot of responsibility taking care of my younger brothers and sisters. Cleaning the house, getting them ready for school, cooking all the meals and house hold chores as well as my own things to do. In doing so I find myself as an adult being more responsible and more caring toward people. It’s in my nature to help when I can. I always think I have to do it all. I don’t like to say no and the puts me in some binds sometimes because then I can’t deliver what I have promised. I like being in control of every situition. I think doing all of this has taught me how to be self suficient. I like to think I passed those traits onto my children.

  2. Lisa Parker
    November 30, 2012 at 7:29 pm

    I, too, am an eldest daughter. I found this website in researching possibilities for my new business name, for a geriatric social work/case management practice. I was an only child for 9 years, then had 3 siblings come along. Sad as it may sound, I learned from a very early age that the only person I could count on was myself. When the siblings came along, I became a 3rd parent/caregiver. My entire life has been spent in caregiver/helper roles. It’s what I do, it’s what I am good at. I am very interested to read more of this blog and what your research shows. I think I can pretty much anticipate your findings 🙂 Good luck!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

