Home > General, women's issues > A Cue for Oldest Daughters from Secretary Clinton?

A Cue for Oldest Daughters from Secretary Clinton?

It came as no big surprise last month when President Obama sent Hillary Rodham Clinton to the mid-East to help negotiate a cease-fire between Israel and Gaza.  She is, after all, Secretary of State.  Plus, she brings to this cabinet position her experiences as both a former First Lady and U.S. Senator.

What may not be widely recognized, however, is that long before she exercised her negotiating skills on the world stage, the current Secretary of State was gaining competence through another important, but largely unheralded position.  She is an oldest daughter.

Now I have no way of knowing if or how often the Rodham household benefited from any compromising arranged by Hillary as she was growing up with two younger brothers.  But it seems probable that, if she is  like a lot of oldest daughters with younger siblings, the Secretary may have learned early on how to take the lead in resolving conflicts.

I’m hardly suggesting that this type experience qualifies the rest of us for international diplomacy.  I am suggesting that we may have overlooked a career for oldest daughters that would utilize generally unrecognized strengths.

If  the idea of becoming a certified negotiator/arbitrator/mediator sounds interesting to you, check out the courses offered by your local college or university.  Doing so could lead to a challenging and rewarding  position in one of several areas including core, civil, domestic, juvenile dependency or parent/adolescent disputes. It’s a career for which you might be well-suited.

  1. Kelly Miller
    December 2, 2012 at 5:19 pm

    I find that even being the oldest daughter and the oldest sibling of six, I don’t feel like one of those “first” daughters that have been the sucessful person as the first daughters are suppose to be. However, I do feel that I am on my way to doing something different with changing people lives. It’s taken me a few years to get to that point but I do believe that once I have finished my schooling I will be on my way. I have been doing what my degree asks of me already for most of my life. I am a people person and one who loves to help a stranger in need. I don’t know where that feeling comes from but I am glad I have that kind of compasion for the people who really need it most. All I can do is be the best at what I want to do in life!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

