Home > General > From Santa’s Secret to Secret Santa Joy

From Santa’s Secret to Secret Santa Joy

It is Christmas morning. In our living room,  the Scotch pine is laden with individual icicles glistening in the glow of multi-colored lights.  Just in front of the tree are two toy strollers, each carrying a  curly-haired baby doll.   Seeing them, my three- and four-year old  sisters squeal, “Santa came! Santa came!”  My mom looks over and winks at me.  We’ve been successful conspirators.

At age eight I’d been entrusted with keeping the identity of Santa secret; and I had even gotten to help pick out the strollers!  I felt big and important.  And I liked the feeling I experienced seeing my little sisters’ excitement.

I’ve thought  of that Christmas morning in watching  news stories about Secret Santa or Ann Curry’s “26 Acts of Kindness” Campaign  and the joy brought to unexpecting recipients of such generosity.

I was too young to realize at age eight what every Secret Santa knows — that there’s more joy in giving than in receiving.

Merry Christmas!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

