Home > family relationships, General > Auld Lang Syne-ing New Year Resolutions

Auld Lang Syne-ing New Year Resolutions

 

Should auld acquaintance be forgot and never brought to mind?

That line from the perennial New Year’s Eve anthem, Auld Lang Syne (old long since),  brought to mind a recent incident — one I’m betting many of you are familiar with.   A woman came up to me at a holiday gathering and stood directly in front of me.  After a moment or two, she said, “You don’t remember me, do you?”  Before I could stammer a reply, another person fortunately stepped up with holiday greetings, and the first woman melted into the surrounding group.   Unfortunately, I never saw her again and still have not figured out who she was.  But the incident started me thinking.   What auld  acquaintances have I forgotten that ought to be brought to mind?  

I thought of my auld-est acquaintances — my self and my siblings.  We’re all adults now.  What do I, as the oldest daughter in my family need to bring to mind to renew or keep what is best in these auld relationships?  And so…

My New Years Resolutions for 2013: 

Love my (whole) self.  Avoid multi-tasking.  Enjoy the individual moments.

Show and tell my siblings they are important to me.  Affirm their individual strengths.  Wait to give my opinion until/unless I’m asked.  Throw out any grudge that wants to steal this new year.

Take a cup of kindness yet for auld lang syne.  

pat's new year's blog

  1. bbartocci
    January 1, 2013 at 1:34 am

    very nice Pat.

  2. farmmarketgyrll
    January 25, 2013 at 6:40 pm

    Love my whole self is always a good one.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

